Posted by on

F1 2013 MPs’ Grand Prix Leaves Tories Victorious

Some news from the House of Commons now… Nope we’ve not changed our blog description but the headline still stands as various Members of Parliament got to grips with F1 2013.

Various MPs decided to have a Grand Prix and it was victory for the Conservative Party when codemasters premiered the new F1 2013 game at Westminster Hall and invited politicians to race for the best lap time at Monza in the F1 2013 MPs’ GP.

The PC version of F1 2013 was used where the MPs got the chance to experience  the full effect of racing a Formula One  car thanks to being strapped into a Vesaro advance simulation rig, complete with hydraulic movement and its “Buttkicker” tactile feedback system.

Mark Spencer, Conservative, MP for Sherwood won the grand prix with a winning lap time of 1’40.012 around the FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO D’ITALIA 2013 at Monza. He also shared the news with Sky Sports F1 tweeting:

 @SkySportsF1 Fastest F1 driver in parliament on the simulator! 1.40.012! #F12013 #MPsGP @Codemasters

Second and third places went to Gavin Barwell, Conservative, MP for Croydon Central with a best time of 1’43.207 and Karl McCartney, Conservative, MP for Lincoln, who came in just under one second later at 1’44.027.

It wasn’t an all-male event as MPs Sheryll Murray (Con, SE Cornwall) Heather Wheeler (Con, South Derbyshire), Luciana Berger (Lab Co-op, Liverpool Wavertree) and Tracey Crouch (Con, Chatham and Aylesford) took their places on the grid.

Tracey Crouch was the best woman on show with  a best time of 1’49.200, which placed her fifth position in the overall driver rankings and the highest placing female driver. She always shared the news with a tweet stating:

Just set best lap time in Codemasters’ F1 2013 simulator being showcased in Parliament. Girls not competitive? Eat my KERS, Wheeler

The Top 10 were as follows:

1 Mark Spencer 1.40.012 Con, Sherwood
2 Gavin Barwell 1.43.207 Con, Croydon Central
3 Karl McCartney 1.44.027 Con, Lincoln
4 David Davies 1.46.898 Con, Monmouth
5 Tracey Crouch 1.49.200 Con, Chatham and Aylesford
6 Andrew Percy 1.49.360 Con, Brigg and Goole
7 Jeremy Wright 1.52.032 Con, Southam and Kenilworth
8 John Hemmings 2.01.036 Lib Dem, Birmingham Yardley
9 Andrew Bingham 2.02.878 Con, High Peak Derbyshire
10 Paul Uppal 2.06.379 Con, Wolverhampton SW

Let us know your thoughts on the MPs grand prix via the comment section below.

Join the discussion